Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Leeds and York

    July 18, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Breakfast a la Hands again before we begin our trip to York.
    Yay! The sun is shining again - a forecast of 24C. This is the way to holiday!
    It's only a short trip for us today so stopped in Leeds at Kirkgate Markets, which began in 1857 in a beautiful old building with glass roofline.
    The market is a bit ho hum with not many businesses there so not sure if other stall holders come on other days but it was definitely quiet today. The food stalls - fruit & veg, fish & seafood and butchers were looking really good and fresh and I did wish I could buy lots more produce here than just the bag of cherries I purchased, but the other stalls - clothing and things!? Did not fit my shopping criteria. Although, I did find one very nice dinner jacket for Phil in quillted black velvet and satin lapels!!!!!!
    And, there is a stall of Marks & Spencer, which was the site of the first store in 1884 with the motto 'don't ask the price, it's a penny'.
    Leaving Leeds Chloe & Anthony gave us a call whilst I am getting Phil lost for the first time. All good fun in the car for a while!
    Now in York we have checked into our lovely apartment and walked into The Shambles for a wander thru the area and the Shambles Market. Sitting at home now with my glass of Prosecco before dinner. Phil and I are eating the strawberries I bought at The Shambles and they are probably the best strawberries I have ever eaten, seriously! (Tomorrow I will be going back to that lady to buy more).
    In The Shambles Phil found a store - The Shop That Must Not Be Named - which had a queue outside to get in and has something to do with Harry Potter. Apparently you would know all about it if you are into Harry Potter. In the window are the sorting hat, broomstick and owl.
    On the way home we had to try another english pub to keep the economy going and not for the first time when I ordered a Pimms it was to hear they don't have it. I thought Pimms came from here????
    So, after a Peach Schnapps on ice while Phil samples another lager we go home to plan our own dinner tonight and I have started with the Prosecco and can follow up with Green Ginger Wine that I found the other night in a store or the delish whiskey liquer that is running low.

    Phil - Tonight I cooked up some pulled pork, mashed potato and greens. I can see why the younger generation don't cook. For Aud 12 we were able to buy everything, just ready for heating. A bit like the Jetsons, where they just push a button in the kitchen, and voila, it appears. The supermarkets have full isles devoted to quick meals. Lots more variety than in our shops.
    Harry Potter is big here, and I am hoping to buy a wand tomorrow, but remember, "the wand chooses you".
    Read more