Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Rothenburg

    August 21, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    After our stay in our nice farm house. We set off again to drop off our car, hop on a bus, get on a train and pick up our new car. I was surprised that there wasn’t any border security from France to Germany. Like I said in my last blog I noticed that the German houses were much more colourful than it is in France. My frist impression of Germany wasn’t the best because we got off at the train station so there were a few odd people about. But once we got to Rothenburg all those train station events were wiped from my mind. It was one of the most amazing towns I’ve ever seen, it had the old town from olden days and it had a wall around it and about 3 clock towers. The shops were bright with ( I assumed ) local made puppets, toys and many other things. It is also known to be home to one of the biggest Christmas shops in the world. We checked in at our apartment which was also amazing with real comfy couches,and got a tour around the place with a night watchman who told us about the history and the security it used to have. It was even better though because he was all dressed up.

    Our second day in Rothenburg was even better, we looked in the church that apparently had a few drops of Jesus blood, old shops like this massive Christmas shop with a big Christmas tree and a wooden spiny thing. We went into a medieval shop. There were helmets, a quill and ink, and a few daggers and swords, there was also a shop full of stuffed animals. We walked around the wall of Rothenburg too. To sum up so far I think that Rothenburg had taken top spot in my list of favourite places.
    Read more