Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 38

    Via de la Plata

    19 Ekim 2022, Ispanya ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    After a short stroll I moseyed in to Astorga, which has been a Christian centre in Spain since the time of the apostles and became a Roman stronghold as well. Astorga is where the Camino Frances joins the Via de la Plata, otherwise known as the Roman Road which is now a popular alternate Camino route. Astorga is also where many Spanish start their Camino.

    As soon as I had climbed a few steps into the old town I was greeted with a gorgeous manicured park set at the top of the old city walls. These walls were originally built by the Romans though they have been raised and rebuilt in the Middle Ages and only small parts of the Roman wall remain at the base. The wall was 2.2km long, 4-5m thick and enclosed an area of 26 hectares although not all of it remains today.

    I decided on an extra short walk today so I could explore Astorga and also stay out of the rain which bucketed down from lunch time. Luckily I was busy exploring the Baroque Cathedral and the 19th century (virtually modern) Bishops Palace built by the famous Spanish architect Gaudi. Most photos are almost all of the Palace with only a cloister shot from inside the Cathedral and a couple of external shots with the palace and cathedral which are next to each other. After siesta, if there's a break in the rain, I will head out to find some famous Astorga chocolate.

    Tonight I'm back in a hostel although it's a bit special as there are no bunk beds and the owner is Brazilian and so is the pilgrim dinner tonight. I've chosen the bed next to the only opening window as I find I'm very partial to fresh air when I'm sleeping in a room with twelve other people.
    Okumaya devam et