Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Tower Bridge and a big chicken

    June 27, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    I didn't write yesterday as I was packing up Glastonbury, driving back to London, finally having a shower and going to bed exhausted. Glastonbury was just the best thing I've done in my entire life. It was incredible how many good bands we saw, how big the place was and how many amazing things were there to discover. Epic on all scales and truly a magical place.

    On to today. I woke up very tired and sore but by lunch time Jake and I went out to explore. Checked out the monument, Tower of London and then over to Tower Bridge. Jake and I discovered that you could go up the bridge on the top and look through large pieces of glass that you could walk on. There was great views up there and I discovered that a bus has actually jumped the opening bridge, just like in the Spice Girls movie!!

    We had a drink at a pub on the Thames, then another while it started to rain... no!! It didn't stop raining so we decided on dinner at a restaurant Jake had been wanting to try - Tramshed or as I read the sign Trashed as the M was drawn as a cow you see. Ha ha! The chicken was fabulous but just a bit too big a serve for us.

    We were headed home at 7pm for an early night when Jake checked if his friend was nearby Joe or 'Happy McSunshine" as I'd heard him called. He was, so we called into a bar for many G&T's and before we knew it, our early night was after midnight. Ah holidays...
    Read more