Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 71

    Arriving in Ecuador and the Equator

    August 26, 2017 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    It was an early 2am arrival in Bogata with a 5-6hour wait to go on to Quito, Ecuador. I arrived in Quito and took a transfer to a hostel called the Secret Garden. There was a roof top area with stunning views! I met a Kiwi family who were heading to the Equator so I joined them in their taxi. I went to the Equator museum and saw tiny heads, traditional houses and experiments to do with the Equator and the magnetic fields. It was very cool to see the impact of the water changing direction in the different hemispheres, as well as the forces on your balance and strength. I checked out the monument and brought some yummy Ecuador chocolate. Back to the hostel where I had drinks on the roof top for happy hour and a burger. I met a others also heading to the Galápagos and everyone was very excited! I went to bed early due to the jet lag with a six hour time difference from London.Read more