Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Koggala

    March 23, 2017 in Sri Lanka ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    Even though, I cannot really go to much further places because of the voluntary job, there are still so many things to see and do in this area!

    Koggala is 25 minutes away from Galle by bus, and there is a beautiful lake with lots of little islands. 🏝 Each island is unique with different experience on it.
    It's very easy to approach them by a motorboat and a guide. 🚤

    The first island we visited is called Cinnamon island. The man, who lives there alone, showed me how to make cinnamon tea step by step. ☕️

    On the second island, there were a 200-year-old Buddhist temple and monks living there. They were very welcoming and nice, although we didn't communicate as they are not allowed to speak to women.

    Furthermore, I got a treatment called "Fish Feeling". It took a few minutes to get use to the feeling, that fishes were eating the dead skin from my feet. 🐟

    At the end, I had a little walk in a Spice Garden.🌱Sri Lankan people mostly use plants and oils for medical purposes. For instance, when I got a sunburn, all they gave me was Aloe Vera, and it worked!
    Read more