Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Pältsastugan, Rostahytta

    August 26, 2021 in Norway ⋅ ⛅ 9 °C

    Greeted by the sun after a cold night. That new sleeping pad is too cold. As expected. Put my thinlite on top, that helped, tomorrow I’ll also put my backpack on top for my feet. I left the doors of the tent open so I could watch the scenery, that made it even colder than it had to be but it was totally worth it.

    How nice and easy it is when everything is perfectly dry. Didn’t even have condensation over night. After a week of rain you learn to appreciate.
    Just my sleeping bag still has condensation by its foot end. I wonder what the physics behind that is.

    I’m still in my tent. Did I mention, I hate that moment when packing up and there is nothing left to do other than leaving your sleeping bag?

    Once I made over the first hills I discovered that there was fresh snow over night and now all the higher mountains have a cute frosting.

    Talked for an hour with the host at Pältsastuga. Fun guy. From Finland. Shortly after met a Norwegian hiker that I talked to for quite a while and not much later a German hiker. Markus from Freiburg, YouTuber as Fernwanderer and on his way to Nordkap. Very concerned about the weather because he packed a too cold sleeping bag.

    Still made it all the way close to Rostashytta and found an amazing tent spot. Mosquitoes outside are waiting to eat me but they sit on the wrong side of the tent (where it’s closed today!)…
    Read more