Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Ny Sulitjelma, Nordkalottleden

    July 31, 2022 in Norway ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Just 10km to the road and mostly downhill! “Easy!” You’d think. But my legs are tired. That 15 year old that shot past me like this was a racing track didn’t help much either. Reached the road nonetheless. And eventually Ny Sulitjelma, the hut that was newly built next to the old one. Pure luxury! And they have electricity. So I charge my power bank. Checked the hiker box and bingo! All I needed for a half assed resupply including gas even. Heaven! That Dutch guy appeared that I had met on trail before. He hadn’t taken the road but the trail by the side of the mountains instead and such was a bit slower. Immediately he complained “who opened the windows!”. Me of course. Who else? It had almost 30° in there, you could barely breath. “The mosquitoes!” he shouted. “There are none” I replied. “I hate them” was all he said before he closed all the windows again. Well ok. We had a nice conversation nonetheless and then I left, heading into Sulitelma to find a spot to camp just after that insane climb of of that valley.Read more