Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    The Dragon's Den

    August 3, 2022 in Poland ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    After some geocaching on Wawel Hill, I took the exit through the Dragon's Den. For a fee of 9 zloty you can descend a spiral staircase in the outer fortification wall of the complex into the cave system that was said to be the dwelling of the mighty dragon.

    It was refreshing to feel the cool cave air, so I stayed a couple of minutes before stepping out to the summer heat. Right outside the exit, there was a dragon sculpture that actually breathes fire every now and then. I'm sure that an unsuspecting pigeon resting on the statue must have had it's tail feathers burnt to a crisp at some point or another.

    I found myself on the bank of the Vistula river, with strips of green grass, trees, benches, and even a walk of fame. A bit further down the river was a ferris wheel and a tethered hot air balloon, with which people could float up into the air to have a view of the city from above. Behind them, the massive, grey shape of an abandoned hotel, which now is the largest food court of the city. Not feeling hungry at the moment, I decided to make my way back to the hostel, passing by the supermarket to get some groceries for the next couple of days.
    Read more