Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    An Evening Stroll (& Local Cuisine IV)

    August 7, 2022 in Poland ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    As the sun started to set over the city, I took an evening stroll to the center. The well-kept main market square, lined by restaurants and leisurely, kind of relaxed hustle and bustle stands in stark contrast the more gritty, character-laden district of Kazimierz.

    First I gravitated towards a Pączki shop to try a Polish donut, which looked more like a German Krapfen to me - not really expecting much of it - and looked for a nice place to sit and absorb the surroundings.

    The mood was nothing short of magical, with the perfect lighting, horse-drawn carriages passing by, and the voices of singers wafting across the plaza. But when I unpacked the fried, glazed pastry with raspberry filling and sunk my teeth into it, my pupils must have dilated to the size of my own head. It. Was. Heavenly. With a capital 'H'. Sorry Krapfen, Pączki (at least those from this store) most definitely send you packing.

    I will be telling you more a the city center and some other goodies I found there towards the end of the week ;)
    Read more