Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Stobrec, south of Split

    May 19, 2018 in Croatia ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Well this is as far south as I am travelling, Isabella arrives in Split in a few days so I have arrived early to get the lay of the land, find out the times of local buses, sort out any excursions and locate the nearest Lidl. Stobrec has some interesting history, but is really the little brother/sister of Split which I have yet to visit. This town is host to a very good camp site with terrific amenities. Sitting between the mountains to the east and the sea to the west it is an ideal seaside holiday destination. Been cycling, swimming and practicing a bit of Zumba ( hope to get to a local class on Monday night), although best practice session was in Bibinje where my stage was a concrete pier and my audience was the Adriatic, or so I thought until I spun round to see the actual audience hanging over the fence. Stobrec like so many coastal towns has morphed into what is standard fare these days, pizza restaurants and cafes, nice enough...
    I am currently parked beside a mobile home which is massive, larger than a single deck bus with sides that extend out once it is parked, the sort of thing Aerosmith would use to tour America, it must be worth £100,000 easy, oh and an Audi as the tow car. The family sit around a full size wooden dining table for meals and hang around there most of the day. Is that what camping is about? if I had that money I would also be sitting around my dining table which would just happen to be in the Azores!
    Read more