Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Rome

    May 22, 2017 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Day one of four here in Rome. Got through quite a few of the big 'sights' so will try to document Rome in a few days of blog. Colloseum was the first stop, which I had never been inside before and really is quite an epic reminder of how cruel humans are! Next we wandered around the Roman Forum (thanks for the suggestion Nia!) so much to see there but would get a tour guide if I went again.

    After lunching about 4pm we headed to the tourist filled Fontana di Trevi which was beautiful as ever but you cannot move for us holiday makers there.. and the bustle can detract from the real beauty of the fountain itself. We then walked to the Pantheon in search of a Gelateria that I visited nearby on previous visits. Evidently whilst my memory is pretty awful at the best of times, it obviously doesn't forget a sweet treat as I found it - Della Palma - and it has 150 flavours to try! Perfect temporary remedy to the heat!

    Hot hot hot for little old me here and I am not coping too well with the heat vs clothing situation. I could quite possibly be the worst dressed person in Italy at the moment :) Definitely not made for this climate so don't worry Mum I won't be moving to Italy!

    Campsite is a bit of a let down after the last one as we didn't realise before we came that it is 18 - 30 on a budget vs a Saga holiday. Lots of noise from the bar which is open til 2am and definitely not made for tents - after hours of hammering and a few bent pegs - hence why the majority of other (older) campers are in caravans and mobile homes! But it did teach me to read trip advisor in more detail before choosing the next one!

    Plenty more to see tomorrow so will keep you posted
    Read more