Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 248

    Queenstown

    December 11, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    Known as the adventure capital of New Zealand and we tried to made the most of it!

    It is set in a completely stunning location on lake Wakatipu, wow views all round!

    Which I saw.. from above..! I’d booked my skydive for the 13th but as I couldn’t sleep just thinking about it, I called and asked to bring it forward. Luckily they had space so off we trundled on the first morning.

    There was lots of waiting. For the briefing, the bus, the group call, the kitting up. And to my horror - by this point a few hours after checking in - the whole thing goes on hold due to weather. All back on I meet Mike, the guy in charge of throwing me out of a plane and landing me safely on the ground. He is cool as a cucumber and clearly smells my fear trying to put me at ease whilst ensuring i know how to act like a banana.

    “Change of plan” says Mike whilst we fly above the mountains, “looks like we’re going from 12,000 feet”. I had booked 9,000 feet... But with little choice I watch as the others start falling out. It is like they are whisked away from the plane and that is EXACTLY how it feels! Even now I’m finding it hard to recall and explain it.. The wind hits so hard you can’t breathe, you are falling through the air and then you are suspended by the parachute, twisting and turning until you land. It is brief and terrifying and amazing and NUTS!

    Definitely glad I got through the fear to do it but not sure I’ll be rushing to do it again 😳

    As I hadn’t had any lunch we visited the famous “Fergburger” that everyone who had been to Queenstown had recommended and wasn’t it worth the queue, delicious burgers washed down with a couple of - much needed - beers.

    The next day we headed out to Shotover River to ride on the jet boat. It does 360 turns and travels up to 90kmph.. more adrenaline but a lot more manageable for my poor heart!

    After visiting the “Fergbakery” and picking up a pie for lunch, we headed up on the gondola and a further chair lift up to the Luge track. It’s basically a downhill kart track with an incredible view over Queenstown and the Lake.

    Then back down to groundlevel and a round of frisbee golf.. which we were pretty bad at but had a laugh anyway. And to finish off our Ferg-feast, we visited “Mrs Ferg” for an icecream, much needed with the sun shining ☀️
    Read more