Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Power breakdown, Waitangi Trail and bus

    February 4, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Today was a travel day, at least from 1:30 pm to 10:30 pm. After waking up and checking out from the hostel, I actually wanted to visit the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, where back on February 6th 1840 the Waitangi Treaty between several Maori tribes and the British Crown had been signed which in fact is New Zealand's founding document. February 6th today still is the National Public Holiday, Waitangi Day. Well, when I got there I was informed that one building could not be visited due to presence of the Prime Minister and all the other buildings because of a power breakdown (as I later got to know that the breakdown was in the whole village of Paihia or maybe even in the entire Northland region). I decided not go in: I considered 40 dollars for just seing the grounds without any buildings too much. An alternative was quickly found: I walked the Waitangi trail through a Mangrove forest up to the Hauru falls - a decent 5 km-trail in a once again breathtaking forest with only the sounds of birds and insects and - especially on the way forward - only facing very few people. The area is even kiwi habitat but, of course, I could not spot any of these nocturnal national birds of New Zealand. Anyway, I very much enjoyed the forest and wished not being in a little hurry because I had to catch my southbound bus. Afterall, I guess, I took more out of this nature experience than I could have out of the cultural one on the treaty grounds. Then, the long bus journey began: first four hours back to Auckland, then another three and a half to Rotorua. Let's see how the next days in this area of volcanism and Maori tradition will turn out...Read more