Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Cape Reinga

    February 3, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    After the sandboarding we basically were sandy everywhere and brought a lot of sand into the coach. Cape Reinga was not far away - another impressive and awesome place. Though certainly being comparable to Cape of Good Hope, I very much enjoyed its beauty. The different colors of Tasman Sea and Pacific were well to be seen. Well, nevertheless, we had to start our way back to the Bay of Islands - being two hours behind schedule. Our driver had a surprise for us: to indemnify for the inconvenience we had because of the mechanical breakdown the tour company would pay the fish and chips for us. We would have stopped to have it anyway, but it would have been at our own expenses. That was nice and tasty. Back at the hostel I took a long shower to get rid of the sand. Now, I am really tired, but happy. It feels as if now my trip has actually started.

    By the way, today I saw way more sheep than yesterday, but also many cows again. Sheep have definitely overtaken horses now, however, about cows I am not really sure. I think cows are still in the lead...
    Read more