Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Hobbiton

    February 7, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Would you have thought that me - "the biggest Lord of the Rings and Hobbit fan ever" (having seen only one out of six films, not having red more than 80 pages of the Lord of the Rings, however the hobbit in the age of 11 or so) - would visit the filmset of Hobbiton? Well, I did it, and guess what, I enjoyed it so much😊First of all, it is located in a gorgeous landscape of the Alexander farm and, furthermore, Hobbiton itself is really pretty. Unbelievable how detailed everything is designed. Additionally, we got many interesting information about the making of the films. After the three films of Lord of the Rings, Hobbiton was removed completely and then rebuilt again for the three Hobbit films. An area, where they turnt a bunch of apple trees into plum trees by cutting of all leaves and fruit and replacing it by artificial ones was only to be seen for a total of seven seconds in all six films. In the whole filmset is only one tree completely artificial. This is due to the reason that this tree has to look sixty years younger in the Hobbit-films in comparison to Lord of the Rings. Peter Jackson considered it the only way to realise that. All 200,000 artificial leaves had to be repainted manually within a week after the filmtaking had to be postponed because Jackson had fallen sick and the original ones had bleached out. I spent very nice two hours in Hobbiton. In the end I enjoyed a free stout in "The Green Dragon Inn". After my visit to Hobbiton, I'd actually be up for watching the films, at least the Hobbit ones. Let's see whether I keep this feeling until my return to Germany😄Read more