Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Napier

    February 13, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    Finally, I even made it to Napier, which had not been planned at all. Since the rest of the group all stayed in Napier, I spontaneously asked Denise, our tour guide and driver, if she could also take me to Napier instead of back to Hastings and booked a seat on the last Intercity Bus from Napier to Hastings at 7:35 p.m.. So, I could at least explore Napier for 1.5 hours. What a good decision! Napier is way nicer than Hastings! Other than Hastings it is located directly at the Pacific coast which gives the town a completely different atmosphere. Furthermore, Napier that had been completely destroyed by an earthquake in the 1930s is famous for its art deco-buildings. The mayor at that time even had brought foreign architects to Napier to rebuild the city in art deco style. I enjoyed the short time in Napier😊Read more