Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Farmer's Market, Live Music and Gardens

    February 23, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    No alarm in the morning😄Even managed not to get very much disturbed by the three persons in the dorm leaving early. I started my day with a run, partly at the Pacific shore. After breakfast in the hostel, I went to the Farmer's Market which takes place every Sunday in Oamaru. A nice little market, however not very spectacular either - except for Frank, a musician playing at the market. He was great, playing quite a few old songs that I liked very much (e.g. Morning has broken or Major Tom). I had a coffee and spent almost an hour listening to Tom. When Frank made a break a Scottish pipe band began playing at Brewery next to the Farmer's Market - great as well. Then, I began my tour through Oamaru passing the Victorian buildings and the Steampunk HQ. I walked through the beautiful Public Gardens, which I liked even more than the Botanic Gardens in Christchurch. I was on the way to a short hiking trail just above the city centre that the lady in the tourist information had recommended to me. Well, what she apparently had forgotten to tell me, was, that the one end of the trail - the one I had headed to - is closed due to a broken bridge. So, I had to follow a road instead, but there were not very many cars and I got to see an old millwheel that could be visited along the road. Then, I could do the second half of the trail, some good views on the city and the Pacific, however, not much more than a nice walk. Back in town, I had nice cold beer and some loaded fries at the brewery while another live band was playing there.Read more