Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Riverstone Castle

    February 24, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Guess what, last night I had the seven bed dorm on my own, no other guests in the hostel. I had the morning to spend in Oamaru because my bus further south to Dunedin went only after noon. Agra, the hostel's owner, took me to the Riverstone castle that belongs to a very rich farmer family. They built the castle some years ago because the lady has always wanted to live in a castle. There are also beautiful gardens for fruit, vegtables and herbs around and the family also runs a famous restaurant (Riverstone Kitchen) over there, apparently the best casual dining restaurant in New Zealand where even people from Auckland fly in for dinner by helicopter. The place is lovely and I thank Agra that she took me there to see it. Afterwards she also took me to a forest close by where she likes to go for a walk with her dog. We did not have very much time, but we went for a short walk together before going back to town, where she let me jum off at the bus stop.Read more