Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    A quiet day on Stewart Island

    February 29, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    I only got up after 9:00 am, but again did not sleep well. From the beginning it felt like a lazy day. I did not feel like doing a lot. At about 11:00, I went to the small Stewart Island museum. It is a small house with only two rooms. There are many different things exhibited (e. g. mussels, fishing equipment, sawmill equipment, a maori bag made from kiwi feathers, and much more). It appears a little chaotic; however, the whole museum is run by volunteers, so, they do a good job. Most impressive to me was the kiwi feather bag, as well as some art on whale teeth. After some quiet time again, in the afternoon I went on a 10 km hike around a peninsula to the Horseshoe Bay. The track was pretty beautiful. I was back in the forest again, with many ferns and birdsung again😄; in between beautiful views on the sea, bays and beaches. After a beer in the hotel bar (I really like that place🙃), I had my dinner (just bread with some spread, I had a fish burger for lunch...) at the hostel and then went for one more little walk to view sunset from Observation Rock and to enjoy dusk at the sea.Read more