Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Tropical Cairns

    March 6, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    Well, I did it😄I flew over the Tasman Sea and am now in Australia. What a difference between the New Zealand South Island with pretty decent temperatures between 15 and 25 °C and the tropical humid heat here in Cairns. I got up 3:45 am to go to Christchurch airport. Takeoff was at about 7:15 am. What a beautiful sunrise just after takeoff. The view over New Zealand was pretty good, but it took only about 20 minutes to leave the South Island behind. The flight to Brisbane was more than three hours over the Tasman Sea. In Brisbane, I had to go through customs and biosecurity as well as to change from the international to the domestic terminal. The busride from one to the other terminal took a few minutes. The heat and humidity was already in Brisbane pretty inconvenient. On the plane to Cairns I fell asleep before takeoff, but, unfortunately, woke up again only a few minutes later. Most of the flight it was cloudy, so I could not see very much. The flight to Cairns took another two hours. In Cairns it was rainy and cloudy during landing. I even saw a lightning. When we had landed the airport was closed for a few minutes because of the storm, so we could not disembark the plane and had to wait. Well, it is wet season here... Nevertheless, it is so hot and humid, it will take me a while to adapt to it. In the afternoon, there was a rather strong rainfall again, but I had to do some laundry anyway. When I went out to checkout the city a little bit, the rain had stopped again. Cairns seems nice, nothing very special though. I like the harbor and the waterfront as well as the palm trees. At the cruise terminal I saw the "Artania", the cruiseship of "Lust auf Meer" on "Das Erste". Anyway, I could not do very much because I am so tired. I am going to bed soon, but the hostel is a catastrophy. It is a party hostel with loud music (probably until late) and I am in an eight bed dorm. I am not very positive to get a good sleep this night.Read more