Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Flying animals in Cairns

    March 7, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    After returning from the reef, I had the entire evening to spend in Cairns before I had to catch the 1:00 am southbound Greyhound bus. I was strolling a little bit through the city centre and then quite some time at the esplanade along the beach. With the sun being behind some clouds the temperature was quite convenient. It was beautiful walking there, in particular because there were so many different birds around. And, before the birds, I had spotted a tree hanging full of flying dogs and maybe other bats, quite impressive! The pelicans, I saw, were fascinating, but also some very colorful parrot-like birds, a white flamingo-like bird and some more. When it got darker (sunset is here already at about 6:30 pm), I could also see quite a few flying dogs flying above the esplanade, a little bit looking like vampires😄 What was pretty nice, too, was that there were not many tourists where I was walking. I was impressed by the many free to use facilities provided by the municipality like fitness devices or beach volleyball courts. Fortunately, I could have a shower at the hostel, even though I did not stay there anymore. Well, the effect was not so big. Here, just one minute after the shower, you start sweating again, because of the high air humidity. The rest of the evening was just waiting for the bus. I was very tired and would have loved to be able to go to bed early.Read more