Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    Noosa National Park

    March 10, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    At about 2:30 pm, I arrived at the hostel. It was tempting to just go to bed and have another sleep, but I wanted to go to the National Park. Where else do you have the chance to go to a National Park almost next to the city centre? Furthermore, koalas live in the National Park and I would have loved to see them. The first animals, I saw, were bush turkeys. That was already at the hostel. You find them all around Noosa. I had to go up a hill to a view point to reach the barriers of the National Park. The trail up was already in a beautiful forest. The view from up there was pretty amazing. In the National Park, I went for a bush walk that apparently not many people take. It was a little adventure and, to be honest, I had a bit of an unpleasant feeling because - other than in New Zealand - in Australia you might encounter snakes or stuff like that. Well, fortunately I did not 😄, but, when I reached some wider tracks I was not sad either. The flora was beautiful. At Hell's gates (kind of a small rough bay) I reached the shore. It was pretty windy up there. The view on the Ocean as well as on Alexandria Bay with a beautiful beach was awesome. Two ospreys ("Fischadler") where circulating over the beach and the bay. It was amazing to watch them. I continued on the beach of Alexandria Bay and then back into the forest. I was limited in time because sunset was already at 6:30ish. Unfortunately, I did not see much wildlife except for the turkeys and ospreys, as well as some small birds and butterflies. No koalas🙁 When I had left the National Park, I got really wet - another hefty shower of the wet season. Back in the hostel, I did some laundry, went for a short walk in the main street, had a sandwich and did not do much more.Read more