Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    The Big Day

    December 25, 2023 in France ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    We had breakfast, I checked to see the pool was empty ... it was! Stepped into action and got all togged up, ready for my Christmas dip. Paah! Closed again! Grrr.
    So we stepped out of our shady spot for a walk along the prom. It was warm and sunny, to me anyway. Locals wore furs and hats, and John felt slightly chilly, having forgotten his USB pocket handwarmer.
    There were a few people out and about promenading, skateboarding, on bikes, on rollarskates, doing wheelies, on scooters, in families on pedal-wagons and just generally taking in the air. Two adults and one child were swimming in the sea. Well, tolerating a dip more than swimming.
    Some were dining in lovely restaurants, like boxes set on stilts on the beach with one side open to the sea, looked like a lovely spot for a coffee but they were eating fine dining style I think, so we wouldn't fit in anyway.
    I went in one of those tardis toilet things. Convenient, but I'm never quite confident that they'll let me out again. Especially with foreign language signage. I simply turned the lever, so all was fine.
    We saw a store selling different types of lawns, in plastic grass. They even had 'scorchio' amongst the range. Going for realism. We liked the fish artworks, which echoed the palm trees.
    Once home, I set up our two Christmas cards on a ledge and a piece of driftwood to represent our tree (ok, I'm a saddo), and we had lunch, which was thoroughly enjoyed. Still stuffed.
    Read more