Satellit
Visa på kartan
  • Dag 20

    Cold night, warm day

    30 december 2023, Frankrike ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    What a difference a day makes! (12 little hours)! I was shaking with cold in the night and had to get up to put a jumper and socks on. It said '5° and feels like 2°'. Felt more like minus 2° to me! John was fine but he always is at night time, when under a duvet.
    Woke to someone with a speaker and a loud base coming from their vehicle. Managed to survive it for about 1.5 hours though, as I didn't want to get up and brave the cold.

    Once on the road towards Marseille, as the day went on, I was roasting and had to put shorts and a t shirt on. It was showing as 14° but I was behind glass taking in the amplified sunshine. Almost felt summery but cooled again now.

    The route around Marseille was very industrial for a long stretch towards the Camargue.
    We got to our planned destination of an Aire for €12 but it was packed. Three of us were queuing to get entry. I talked to someone who'd just tried to get in. She told me in rapid French that it was full. There were a lot of words, but I asked questions like 'gendarmes'? Anyway, I got the gist that parking in winter is ok and they won't bother. In summer it's different. Finding places around the south of France is a problem. Most places have height barriers, and campervans are clearly not welcome. We drove 20 mins or so north and found a much nicer and free spot here in a side road.

    We're finding that getting a campsite open is rare, but there are quite a lot of campervans and motorhomes around, and Aires are generally pretty full. It's getting a bit frustrating.

    Just road trip shots today.
    Läs mer