Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Seashore / seafood

    January 26 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    A full day of walking a full 8 miles up and down the beach, admiring shells, watching plovers, admiring seagulls (they were just standing facing Mecca waiting for something) plus avoiding dead ray fish, birds and other creatures.
    We stopped for a break at 'El Patio' fish restaurant and ordered prawn fritters and anchovies in a tempura batter. Thank you Google Lens, translate! Mind you, it was only after my visit to the ladies that I could use it to discover that they wanted me to knock before entering as the lock didn't work.
    When I ordered my coffee, I forgot to mention or to mime 'large', so I was presented with a mere thimble of very strong coffee, even though it was 'decafinado', I'm sure it spurred me on for our return journey.
    We tried taking some videos. I am not really cut out to work for David Attenborough but good for memories of plovers, one of my dad's favourite birds, and fast becoming mine too (along with kingfishers of course). The ones today were Kentish plovers, not ringed plovers, as he'd shown me in the Hebrides. I love the way they run fast as can be across the sand. It's as if their legs are made of wheels.
    Read more