Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Orvieto, at last

    April 21, 2022 in Italy ⋅ 🌧 57 °F

    The train ride from Orte to Orvieto was only about a half hour. When I arrived,there wasn't a bus and it was raining. The funicular wasn't there either. I looked up the bus schedule and it was 10 minutes away. After a fee minutes, I decided to take a taxi.

    The hotel is small, but comfortable. My room is really small, but it works--except for the ledge I keep stubbing my toe on! I'm on the 1st floor (2nd?) in a room overlooking the street.

    Orvieto is like any other hill town in Italy--that is not a bad thing! I don't know why I thought Corso Cavor would be a busy street. It is cobblestone, narrow, twisting strada.

    I settled into the room and relaxed for about and hour and a half. My ankles and feet were swollen, so I elevated them for a bit. At about 6:30pm I got dressed to walk around. It had stopped raining, but it was cold. I was trying to find a Enoteca that had charcuterie. My navigation skills, even with Google maps, is still awful. But I get to see more that way, right? I passed the duomo, which is beautiful. Then I found an overlook of the surrounding countryside. Wow.
    I finally found the restaurant and it was closed.

    Backtracking, I found another place that looked similar and went in. I had a mixed plate with salami, prosciutto, cheese and a toast with patè. And a glass of Orvieto Classico! It was about 9pm when I headed back. A gentleman stopped my to ask a question, in Italian, and I answered that my Italian was really bad! Honestly, at that point, my English wasn't working either.

    So I survived the day!
    Read more