Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Pozzo San Patrizio

    April 23, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 57 °F

    I woke up early to have breakfast and get out and about. I heard that Orvieto gets crowded on Saturdays. Boy are they right! The street in front of my hotel has street vendors set up along the whole way between the duomo and the city wall.

    There was a short line at the well, but I got in quickly. It is 497 steps to the bottom. Not steep, but a lot! The views from the windows were great. A lot of people did the "run to a window across the way and get a picture. I couldn't do that, but I did have a few people take my picture.

    The way back up was a little harder, but it was a gentle slope. I guess if you had to carry water up all those stairs, steep would be bad!

    Afterwards, I discovered a park along the old ramparts, and ruins of an old Etruscan temple. Great views, but overrun with teenage tourists.

    Time to see the duomo!
    Read more