Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    More wandering in Orvieto

    April 23, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 59 °F

    After lunch, I made my way back to the hotel for a recharge. For me and my phone. It was the lowest my battery has gotten...maybe ever. I napped for a bit, then tried to figure out what to do. I had seen everything that I could on my city pass. I walked around and finally wound up at the same place I had the spritz before.

    Like everything else, it was crowded. I went in and was told to go outside. I had a spritz and met a couple from Sacramento. We were discussing Italian phrases and I mentioned to the server, who was there, that I said, "grazie," and he said, "you're welcome." I said that no one wants to hear my sorry-ass Italian, and he agreed. Ouch. I did laugh and at least I have confirmation!

    I came back briefly to change for dinner. I decided to try the place I looked at the night before. I got there and they were empty, and full. At least where I was concerned. Who knows, maybe they had reservations. But I'd like to have came back with someone else and tried. So I went to the place close to the hotel. They seated me at a table in the doorway. I had a 1/2 liter of wine, umbriacelli with truffle sauce, and pork. They brought me potatoes that I didn't order. Overall the service was awful.

    I walked towards the duomo and got my gelato. Chocolate and Crema. It was good and I was very full! Time for bed.

    Tomorrow...Rome!
    Read more