Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    In Brindisi

    March 2, 2023 in Italy ⋅ 🌙 54 °F

    I ended up walking to the B&B Diamora Guerrieri. There were no taxis and it was nice evening. Plus, I was sitting on a train for 5 1/2 hours. It took about 15 minutes and was easy to find.

    As I sort of expected, no one was there. I texted, then messaged on Booking.com, and finally called. There were 3 boxes on the wall outside the door. And he gave me the code to #2. I had to let myself in and find the room. It wasn't difficult, just weird. The room is nice--it was really hot! I had to turn off the heat and open a window.

    Nothing opened for dinner until after 7:45pm, so I had time to kill. I checked out the TV--nothing in English. I also washed out my dress and socks, changing into jeans and a sweater. I am not tired and will probably need to take something to sleep, since I'm so wound up.

    I decided to walk around and find a place to eat. It turns out that I am really close to the waterfront. I saw one of the restaurants on my list and decided to eat there. It was good, not great. I had a salad with tuna, fennel, and olives, followed by frutta al mare pasta. They did have a nice lemon slushy thing at the end of the meal.

    I walked by the end of the Appian Way before heading back to the B&B.
    Read more