Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Evening in Brindisi

    March 3, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 54 °F

    After my afternoon nap, it was time to get outside. My first stop was the Betty Cafe at the port for my first gelato. I sat by the water and enjoyed it thoroughly--even though it was a little cold!

    At 6pm, I started to think about dinner. Unfortunately, I am in Italy, and no one thinks about dinner at 6pm. Fortunately, they do think about apertivi! I wandered around and settled on a place that had outdoor seating. I had a Hugo Spritz, which was very sweet and delicious.
    I walked by the restaurant I was interested in and it was completely empty. 7pm was too early. So I found an enoteca and had a glass of rosè and some taralli.

    After the wine, it was 8pm and time for dinner. The restaurant, La Cantina Ti L'Artisti, was still empty, but this time, I went in. I am getting more confident with my Italian, and when the server gave me the specials menu in English, I told her that I don't understand Italian food in English. From then on, we spoke in Italian. I had ravioli with burata, followed by grilled calamari. I finished with Catalan cream and some Montrnegro Amaro. I decided I wanted some limoncello. It was the best I've ever had, and when I asked, it turns out they make it in house. I would have bought some if I could. I thanked the server for being so nice and headed home.

    It was a very good day.
    Read more