Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    I Can't Believe I Ate the Whole Thing!

    March 8, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 54 °F

    Dinner was great last night but very filling. I will start with the rest of my day to that point. The drive home was uneventful,--I think I only got turned around once going through Putignano or Turi. The towns always mess me up!

    I arrived back at the masseria at about 4;30pm. I had bought a bottle of wine in Alberobello and went to the reception to get a corkscrew. She asked if I wanted a glass, but there were glasses yesterday. Of course there weren't any when I got to the room. So I walked back and she gave me two.

    I enjoy some of the wine on the back patio of my room. I think it's for smokers, but it was a nice respite. It started to get cold, so I went back inside and watched an episode of The Mentalist in Italian.

    I walked to the restaurant at 7:30pm. There was a beautiful full moon which pictures didn't do justice to. In the restaurant, I sat at my table #21, and looked at the menu. Apparently it changes every day. Today I ordered Carbonara alla Masseria, which had delicious mushrooms in some sort of cream sauce. For my secondi, I had a veal steak, topped with ground pistachios. I ate about 3/4 of this enormous steak. Dessert was tiramisu. I was SO full!

    I waddled home and promptly fell asleep!
    Read more