Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Burano

    November 22, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 54 °F

    We arrived in Burano around 11 am. I spoke with some Argentinian ladies--a mother and daughter after I took their picture.

    I headed straight for La Dogeressa, the pashmina store. It was closed (for good?) 😔. On the main drag I stopped for a caffe doppio. The woman at the counter was surly! As I was walking I saw some pashminas at a small shop. I went in to buy and the girl was lovely. We spoke in Italian and I bought a "beige freddo" and a denim blue pashmina. We talked about learning different languages. She said, "La aspetta," which means "come back here again." 😃 Next stop was the post office for stamps.

    I wanted to take the 12:25pm vaporetto and thought I was close. Nope! Other side of the island! I hustled and made it with a few minutes to spare.

    I'm inside the ferry and trying to decide whether to stop in Murano. It will be crowded, and I don't really need any more millifiori! It has been a nice sunny day so far.
    Read more