Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Slow start

    November 28, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 45 °F

    I woke up at 9 am and laid around in bed until almost 10 am. I decided that I really need to wash my hair. The shower is tiny, and the water was lukewarm, at best. But it felt good. The blow dryer was not worth anything either. So I hung out in the room until my hair was reasonably dry.

    Heading out towards the Piazza Maggiore, the first thing I noticed is how cold it is. Maybe 40°? I passed the statue of Neptune where they were putting up a Christmas tree. Unfortunately, the cafe on square, where I had breakfast yesterday, was closed. So I wandered around trying to find a place in the sun, or with heat lamps, to have coffee and cornetto. I came to the market hall where we had food yesterday and stopped there. 3.20€ for a coffee and a roll!

    I noticed that my phone was not using data, even though I had 4 bars. When I got back to the hotel, the wifi worked, but no mobile data. I ended up spending the next hour on the phone with AT&T, trying to figure out the problem. No luck. So, I do not have mobile data now. 😞
    Read more