Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 57

    Playa Gigante

    February 22, 2017 in Nicaragua ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    Playa Gigante was again one of these places with one daily bus and I couldn't really believe my luck when I came to the bus station in Rivas and saw that bus turning into the station when I had just gotten there.
    Gigante Bay is a really laid back place right at the beach and I went here after Katherine, who I had met at Surfing Turtle Lodge, had recommended it to me as they take volunteers and I was still looking for a place where I could spend some time working and savin some money in Nica.
    When I got there I met some guys from Hamburg and we talked a bit about home. Later we wanted to find a spot for a sunset beer and as the rock separating our beach from the next was supposed to be the best spot we started climbing up. I guess I would have turned around at some point as it didn't look like it was possible to get up there but after a little climbing up the rocks we actually managed to get all the way up. The view was amazing and a perfect spot for some nice pictures (I figured I got lazy on taking pictures and only post pictures of sunsets a I try to do better).
    The next morning started with an early yoga session which is mandatory for volunteers. I went there and talked to Jon (the owner) about volunteering here later - he told me to just come back after my surfcamp and talk then.
    I spend the rest of the day by the beach reading and finally catching up on my footsteps on the blogg ;)
    For dinner I went to the Monkey House. A hostel on top of a cliff overlooking the ocean. Some of the guys from my hostel had moved here because our hostel didn't have a kitchen and the wanted to do a fish bbq. They invited me and a few others for a delicious meal - I was quite impressed what they managed in the small kitchen. After dinner we stayed around sitting at the bonfire till after 2. I was happy I didn't have to walk home alone along the beach. It was a really special night. The next morning I left early to catch the only bus going back from here towards Ometepe Island.
    Read more