Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 132

    Santa Teresa

    May 8, 2017 in Costa Rica ⋅ 🌫 27 °C

    I had chosen the hostel in Santa Teresa to be closer to Playa del Carmen. This beach break was supposed to be easier then the main break in the north of Santa Teresa. Debbie, who had been in the surfcamp in Nicaragua when I first got there as a guest, was volunteering in a hostel up north and we met the next morning to go surfing together!
    The waves were a lot different than what I was used to as they weren't as powerful but after a while I figured it out and actually had a lot of fun.
    After our session we walked with Debbie along the beach to her part of town. On the way back we walked along the street and checked out a few stores and hostels here as Rozsa wasn't sure if she wanted to stay where we were. The area up north was definitely nicer but as I came here for the surf I was really happy with our location.
    I went back in the water around 4pm and was hoping for a nice sunset afterwards. But it rained most of the time I was in the water and even though it didn't really matter as long as I was in the water I didn't really feel like sitting on the beach in the rain afterwards.
    It kept on raining the whole night and only stopped for half an hour which we used to run to the super market to buy some stuff for a first self made dinner in a long time. When we got back to the hostel it smelled amazing. A couple was making chicken curry with everything you can imagine. Even fresh peanuts and cilantro as a topping. I don't know if they saw Rozsas jealous eyes walking in with our pathetic ingredients for spaghetti with tomato sauce but they invited us immediately as they had far to much anyways. So we put our stuff aside for the next day and joined their delicious dinner!
    The next morning we actually went surfing with a pretty big group from our hostel. It was nice to have other people around again. The conditions were perfect in the beginning. The sun was just coming up and I caught a few nice rights going directly at the sun. Such a nice way to wake up!
    Later I met Debbie again at Banana Beach. A fancy beach club with expensive but really nice smoothies and cocktails. As it wasn't raining that day I went back to the beach for sunset before preparing the pasta we got around the night before with Rozsa. We hung out at the hostel talking to our roommates. The next morning I left early to make my way all the way across the country to Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean Coast.
    Read more