Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 135

    Bordercrossing to Panama

    May 11, 2017 in Costa Rica ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    After so many border crossings this one was fairly easy and uneventful. As I had already left Costa Rica once I knew I would have to pay $8,- leaving tax at some random little shop before the border so I started looking for signs as soon as I got of the bus. After I got my stamp to leave Costa Rica I had to cross a bridge to get to Panama. The area between the borders is always weird but this bridge over Rio Sixaola was actually quite nice.
    On the Panamanian side there were lots of guys who wanted to sell me a shuttle straight to Bocas. But after I told them I wanted to take the public transport they actually showed me where to find the bus to Changinola. There I changed to Almirante from where I had to take a boat to Isla Colon, the main one of the islands of Bocas del Toro. I shared a bench on the boat with the typical couple you meet traveling everywhere: He, a little older, white and rich. She, a little younger, local and beautiful. But I tried to not be judgmental and when the boat left they both cracked a can of beer and tried drinking it while the boat jumped over some heavy waves. When this made me laugh they offered me a beer as well and now we had a lot of fun together drinking our beer on the bumpy boatride. It showed me again that it helps to keep an open mind and not have to many prejudices.
    Read more