Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 160

    Santa Marta

    June 5, 2017 in Colombia ⋅ ⛅ 40 °C

    When I was in Colombia last year I had met Harri in San Agustin. He was running the hostel I stayed in and we had traveled to Salento together afterwards. We had stayed in contact since then and when I told him I was coming back to Colombia on my trip he decided to join me at the Caribbean Coast for a while. I knew from last year that I didn't really like Santa Marta a lot but it was a good base for different places along the coast. So we figured we would meet there to figure out then where to go next.
    I took the bus from Cartagena to Santa Marta and along the way it started to rain really heavy. The streets in Santa Marta didn't have a proper drainage system so the streets were completely flooded. Being on the bus felt like being in a boat ☺🛶 When I got of the bus and walked towards my hostel I just took of my shoes and waded through the water.
    I was pretty excited to meet Harri again and to travel with a real local for a while. We met at the hostel and went for dinner together to catch up and make plans for the next days. I realized pretty quick that it wouldn't be the easiest thing to travel together.
    Most people that I had spend time with along my way were in a similar situation than I was. Our paths would join for a while as long as we were going the same way and separate once we were going different directions. Sometimes you would go for a compromise or skip your original plan if the other person had an idea that sounded appealing. With Harri it was different. He didn't really care what we were doing and basically left all the decisions to me. You might think this would make it easier but I felt responsible for him and didn't want to make a decision for 2 all the time. But maybe I only had to get used to this new situation? That first night I told him my idea for the next day and we decided to do exactly that. Our first stop would be Palomino.
    Read more