Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 171

    Santa Marta 2.0

    June 16, 2017 in Colombia ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    I stayed one more night in Santa Marta before going the long way to Medellin. I had stayed at Masaya Hostel last year when I was here and was looking forward to go there again and just chill in the pool on the rooftop.
    I started talking to Henry and found out he was actually working at Masaya as an intern for the management. It was interesting talking to him and learn about the concept of Masaya - a place with the amenities of a hotel and the flair of a hostel. Prices were alright for the dorms and a bit higher for privates. He also introduced me to the F&B Manager and a girl responsible for the architecture and development.
    We tried some of their cocktails during happy hour and even joined the free dance class later. The guys had dinner at the hostel as well but I wanted to go to a restaurant with ceviche which someone had recommended for me. So I left and had a big portion of seafood ceviche!
    After sleeping in hammocks for a week I really enjoyed my bed that night. The next morning I had breakfast on the roof and finally called my mum to talk in person - it's so much better than just writing all the time.
    In the early afternoon I went to the bus station where I caught my first overnight bus of this trip to get to Medellin!
    Read more