Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 246

    Bordercrossing to Peru

    August 30, 2017 in Peru ⋅ 🌙 19 °C

    When I got to Copacabana it was just after 12pm. There was a tourist bus going straight to my next stop Puno in Peru in about an hour but I had decided to do the bordercrossing independently. It was supposed to be cheaper and probably even faster to make the way to Puno with different busses. I first took a collectivo to Kasani on the Bolivian side of the border. A tourist bus from Peru had just arrived at the immigration office but I managed to get ahead of them and only had about 6 people ahead of me in line. After walking across the border I got a little confused at the Peruvian immigration office. I was all by myself and wasn't sure if this was the right spot. But sometimes you are lucky and there is just no line at all.
    From the border I took another collectivo to Yunguyo in Peru from where I could catch a direct bus to Puno. When I sat on the bus I checked the time. It was just after 12pm. The time difference between Bolivia and Peru made it possible that I crossed the border in literally no time!
    Read more