Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Back to Dublin

    September 1, 2022 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    We boarded the train back to Dublin for the last 4 nights of the trip. Again a pretty uneventful trip back to the big city.

    The best part of the end of this trip is the hotel. Thankfully to points (thank you Deloitte) we got a pretty decent deal at the Shelbourne Hotel. I was hoping to use my upgrade options to get a suite like London 2019. Sadly there were no upgrade options available. Still the room is nice and I get a robe, slippers and turn down service. Which is where someone turns down my sheets and sets my slippers out on their own rug. It is ridiculous but awesome. The hotel is deep in history with poets, writers and artists inhabiting it’s bars in the late 1800 and early 1900. My wanting to stay at the hotel is also the reason we ended up being in Dublin a week before our anniversary. I could not get a room Sept 8-14. And I was confused as to what the hell was going. Well I found out…Garth Brooks is in town at this time. He probably has the hotel booked for his people combined with the people coming to see him. Fucking Garth. But we saw the sun for most of the trip…okay fine I will not hate Garth.

    We dropped off our things and headed to Stephen’s Green park for a picnic lunch which was all the goods we picked up in Galway. This park is like a mini Central Park. With green spaces and a pond. It was another sunny day so we enjoyed the sun. Then we went on the hunt for a tweed jacked and wool cardigan.

    That evening we enjoyed chowder #3 and some fish and chips at a pub recommended by our taxi. At this point we are sharing everything as we eat a lot it seems like. Haha. And we also wanted a pub off the beaten track from the Temple Bar area as it is crazy there.

    We enjoyed a night cap at the 1824 pub that was made to look like an old library.
    Read more