Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Into Friesland

    June 3, 2023 in the Netherlands ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    I am sat in the sun, taking a break from the demoralising headwind as I work my way North and East along the coast. I have had only headwinds in the last 2 weeks. But its been sunny and lovely weather for camping and riding so I am not complaining (much!). The terrain remains flat with dykes and waterways, happy frogs in the ditches, loads of birds, pretty coastal villages riddled with water ways and, of course, oodles of cycle paths. Yesterday I caught the boat across the IJsselmeer and later visited a volunteer-run water-pumping wind mill. When i asked if I could climb up inside the man said “sure, I’ll just go and stop the sails whilst we go up”. Then, as it was closing time I watched them put the windmill to bed, furling up the cloths on the sails and rotating the sails 1/4 way around to get to the next. one.Read more