Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Demoralized in Germany

    June 9, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    At the moment I am a bit demoralized.. The highlights are on the thin side so its a lot of not much excitement pedalling alongside modestly busy roads or through relatively uninspiring flat green or lightly industrialised areas. With the odd exception, I am still into a headwind (as for the last 3 weeks). As its still pancake flat it means I never get to freewheel.
    My entry into Germany was a bit marred as both ferry crossings of the Ems river are out of service. I headed south inland to find a good old fashioned bridge. But as I was not too impressed at the industrialized shores I decided to then cut across inland. One can saturate on a coastal dyke. It at least made for a slight change of scene. I was feeling a bit under ressourced and needed to stock up on maps and information having only brought stuff for the trip as far as Amsterdam. I am still learning how to travel with less paper (not yet mastered).

    Hopefully by the time I find wifi and you read this I will have perked up
    Read more