Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Diversions

    June 13, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Yet more road/bridge/ferry closures. Yesterday morning I had an additional 10 mile circuit to circle back to 100 metres away on the other side of the canal in order to reach the ferry to cross the estuary - the canal bridge was vertical for repairs.

    Next was crossing the Nord Ostsee canal which is a big shipping canal that connects the North sea to the Baltic sea. I crossed using a bike tunnel only to discover a rather more classy transporter bridge just down the road.

    Then, today they would not let me along the lake side road i had planned. Sigh. As I debated with the workman-guard how far I needed to divert, a local cyclist arrived and took me under his wing using a short cut path through the woods ( I had to pedal frantically uphill to keep up with his electric bike) and then offering me a cup of tea at his home and optimizing the route for the rest of the day for me. My initial annoyance actually turned out to be a little blessing.

    Its gone from cool to pretty hot ( the butter melted and I am no longer wearing everything in bed ). And finally there are more woods and fields and I am coming out of the pancake zone.
    Read more