Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Vikings

    June 20, 2023 in Denmark ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    I have spent the final 2 days of my tour on Funen. I decided I should try out a Danish shelter. In this region they seem to be more attached to a village rather than away from everything so I was not as enthralled as by the tenting version I tried earlier. Plus I was a bit put out when the adjoining playground was noisily mown at 6am this morning. Later a school party could not get the better of their curiosity. Two nine year old girls managed an impressive English conversion with me.
    Next was a visit to a rare and striking viking ship burial. Mostly what is left is the imprint of the ship -the outline of the planks and nails can be seen- and the skeletons of the animals that accompanied this king on his after life journey. Finally I pedalled into Odense (pronounced Ohensay) home of Hans Christian Anderson. Tomorrow I will start leg 1 of my experimental rail journey home.
    Read more