Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Molinaseca

    May 29, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    Taking a rest in El Acebo, I realized that after three weeks of hiking with my 17-18 pound pack, I need to give my body a break and send my pack ahead of me so I can make better headway. Today, the 18 km walk to Ponferrada was very quick without carrying my pack and my legs were much happier.

    I learned that I can’t compare my 60-year-old body’s abilities to the last time I walked this way seven years ago carrying the same weight the whole distance. I was subconsciously making a judgement that I should be able carry my pack as I did in the past. But over the course of a couple hundred miles, I have learned my limits; this is a good thing.

    Now I feel like I can tackle O’Cebreiro, the big mountain looming ahead of me, and my dread and fear is gone. It is worth losing a little freedom and spontaneity in having to plan ahead where I will walk and sending my pack to a specific place. It gives me the added advantage of knowing where I will lay my head at the end of a long day.

    I’m growing tired of uncomfortable nights of tossing and turning in dormitories full of pilgrims, though I do enjoy their company at dinner. I don’t mind the lack of privacy so much as other matters of incompatibility, of which I will spare the details.
    So I will stay in hostels when I can which will afford a little more comfort at night.

    So, with that, I’m going to turn in and prepare for the long stage tomorrow.
    Read more