Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    On my way!

    October 30, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 37 °F

    Up at 4:30 this morning to catch my 6:19 flight. The lack of a line at security threw my sleepy brain for a loop--I was counting on that time to get organized! The security agent was not amused at my inability to find my clear bag of liquid items inside my main carry-on bag. (I stuck it in my smaller bag last night to make it easier to find. How is the irony of that not hilarious to you, sir?) I guess we can't all have a sense of humor at 5 a.m. Or maybe the irony wears off after the first thousand people who've done the same.

    Here's the plan: my sister and I will meet up at JFK this afternoon to fly to Venice together. After we check in to our hotel on Monday morning, we'll head to a much fancier hotel to find my parents, who are splurging on a 5 star hotel in celebration of their 56th wedding anniversary. Kathryn and I are splurging just to be let aboard their anniversary cruise, so we're going for the cheap inn near the port. We will have a day and a sleep in Venice to acclimate ourselves to European time before boarding our ship on Tuesday.
    Read more