Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Colon Port Walkabout and Workday

    April 25, 2023 in Panama ⋅ ⛅ 86 °F

    Didn’t go far today. Put in a full day of work on the ship. As advertised, the area in the immediate (walking distance) vicinity of this Colon cruise port is not all that easy or worthwhile to explore by foot. It’s mixed industrial/commercial/residential. A real mix of rundown infrastructure and some very modern good-looking construction underway. However, I did briskly walk around some for about 30 minutes or so. Not accosted by vendors, though there were some, but oh MY the taxi drivers are “friendly”. Dozens of them just lying in wait for non-excursion passengers like me. I figured out that by saying I had to work on the ship (true) that they quickly left me alone, maybe thinking I was crew, but I must have been solicited over a dozen times in different locations while out walking - all of them either offering to take me wherever I wanted to go or to show me a fantastic personal tour.

    Shut down on the laptop with my neck screaming at me for using such bad ergonomics for so long. Headed to the adult pool area (Solarium) to stand under a hydrotherapy pipe. Though, “adult pool” is funny on this cruise as the informal report is there are only 6 children on board, one of which is only 9 months. So kids are pretty thin on the deck; pretty thin in the air; generally just a bit trim…🥸
    Read more