Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Riverbanks of Ganges

    December 14, 2023 in India ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    In the afternoon I have found time for a long walk along the Ganges. It was so interesting to observe the people. The Indian are very friendly and curious. Often they ask where I am from or chatting for a while with me. Sometimes they want to take a picture with me. Against all prejudices I haven’t been not only one single time embarrassed by somebody… the Hindu culture and traditions are nowhere better reflected as on the riverbanks… the spiritual bathing, the burials, which I could see today with my own eyes. For western people the ritual of burial with public burning appeals strange, but we have a very distanced relation with the death… the Indians take it as it is - a part of the circle of life.Read more