Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Delhi Shri Laxmi Navagayan Temple

    December 16, 2023 in India ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    I love walking through the streets, observing people, how they live. What habits they have, what work they do, how they dress, how they behave, what drives them, what they believe in, and so on. I like to drift through the streets of Delhi and so today I didn't miss the opportunity to walk to the temple. Unfortunately, I wasn't allowed to take photos inside the temple, so I only have the outside impressions of this beautiful temple. Mahatma Gandhi inaugurated this temple in 1936 and made it accessible to all Indians, regardless of their caste. The temple has a very beautiful garden, which many Indians use to picnic or walk in the shade of the trees. Inside, the temple has very beautiful marble work. Windows and wall elements are artfully crafted by skilled stonemasons. Marble slabs depict the numerous Hindu deities, especially the forms of the trilogy. Brahma, the creator, Vishnu, the protector, and Shiva, the destroyer.
    Every now and then, I fortify myself with street food or visit one of the small restaurants and eat delicious food. In the north of India, there is a lot of wheat bread that is served round and flat, like a flatbread with curry and delicious sauces. It is less spicy than I expected but very tasty and intensely flavored. Of course, the chai masala is not missing. I have at least five every day in small cups. Oh, I am in love with this wild, crazy, colorful city which is the second largest in India with its 30 Million inhabitants.
    Read more